NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
933 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering which knot I should use,

I was going to put about 50 yards of 30lb mono just so the braid sticks followed by 300 yards of 50lb braid and then about 25ft of 50lb fluorocarbon leader. The only knot I know of to connect line to line is the blood knot, however I dont think it is supposed to be used unless both lines are the same diameter. The braid is much thinner than the mono and fluorocarbon.

BTW it is a Chaos rod 40-60lb braid class, 15-40lb mono, with a Penn International Torque 200 reel.

This is my first time trying out the braid, Is line to line the best connection, or should I maybe use a ring or swivel? I dont want to lose any fish due to weak knots.

Any replies are appreciated.

·
Registered
933 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just did a practice knot, tried out the uni to uni splice, seems like a good strong knot. Thanks Gaucho. Anybody use those rings instead?

Nanbayfluker--Ill try out the albright knot too, just have to look it up first.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Different braids are stronger using different knots but the most commonly accepted for strength;

Mono to braid-

No-name AKA yucatan AKA Bristol- No question

Braid to leader

Start with a 12 turn bimini to double the line and than a 10 turn Bristol AKA Yucatan AKA No name.

This is what many of the record chasers use and line tests have proved to be optimal.

Line to leader direct vs. swivel is a preference. I like a swivel if I have to worry about the line twisting. Jigging or sinker rigs that may cause the line to twirl and put tork in the line should have a swivel. If your casting or trolling lip lures and bucktail type jigs that remain upright I prefer the direct method.

If you do use a swivel tie it after the bimini using a double palmar twice through. Then tie your leader using an Improved clinch. It seems Fluro ties stronger using Improved Clinch.

·
Registered