NorEast Fishing Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my new boat this season so you can say i'm kinda new to this. Well i can see its starting to get a little chilly out there already. When would you experts say to put the rods away and wait untill next year? I dont know how good the fishing could be when it gets cold.

·
Registered
1,222 Posts
I tried to fish until Thanksgiving weekend last year & froze! One morning in early November, I launched and water had frozen in my outboard engine block & trashed the thermostadt gasket.
I started my outboard & I noticed water was not flowing through the block. I opened the cover & found water coming out of the relief valve on my thermostadt, yikes. I had to wait a while for the engine to heat up & release the ice blockage. Last November was a cold one.

·
Registered
1,732 Posts
Hi,

Mid Dec. was usually my last day out for Blackfish or flounder. I had a 50 Johnson outboard and made sure that I kept it in the down position to drain the water after use.

Capt. Marc

This message was edited by Capt. Marc on 9-25-01 @ 10:03 PM

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
SeaLion
did you have your engine in the tilt position? If so, that's probably where the problem started. In cold weather it has to be down so water drains and doesn't pocket. That goes for boats in the water as well as on trailers.

Bill Sullivan
Jones/Debs editor
Nor'east Saltwater

·
Registered
457 Posts
Last year was my first season with a boat. I made my last trip on December 5 & had a great day! (At one point, we got 5 fish on the umbrella at the same time!) Ice on the deck & total face-freeze became the norm in mid November, but the fishing...... Leave it in as long as you can. This year, I might try to make Christmas!

Stephen Byrne
NY Bight Editor