NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting started in offshore tuna fishing and plan to do mostly chunking however will troll if necessary. The fish I will be around can range from 40lbs to 150lbs. With and occasional fish at 200+. Both YFT and BFT. What is an all around good reel to use in this situation, line class, ect. Thanks Josh

·
Registered
803 Posts
Dockboy,

I dont mean to sound rude but how is this new topic any different than the ones you've posted over the last few days. Unless you have unlimited funds, the reels you buy for chunking will be the same reels you troll with, within reason. 50s are the perfect size for chunking and almost all trolling conditions. Yeah, you could also buy 80s or 130s but lets be real. The vast majority of the fish you catch will be well handled by a 50. Most fish caught these days on the chunk will be under 100lb YFT The fact that the fish may range to 150 or 200 should not be what guides you. Most times when chunking you might only use 60lb or 80lb flouro. If a super big boy hits you hope you dont get a breakoff. Good Luck out there.

·
Registered
493 Posts
Offshore Party Boat Chunking Reel

Think a 50W leverdrag reel. The Shimano TLD50LRS is a good start. Lighter than metal, very smooth wet drag and very low maintenance. Bad side is that you shouldn't push the drag beyond 27# or you risk a frame failure.

If you want to spend the bux, a Penn50SW (on sale since it's being replaced by the 50VSW model) or the Shimano Tiagra 50WLRS are excellent.

·
Premium Member
74,095 Posts