NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,031 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A good friend of mine called me on the phone last nite. He said " you know....this is crazy...its warm,theres no wind...why aren't we fishing ?".....I really didn't know what to say? The first thing that came to mind was...because theres no fish to fish for?.......we both laughed.

But it's not really funny.

This will be the 18'th year I have filed a schedule C. I don't know if I am going to make 20....****, I don't know if I am going to make 19.

When I first did this for a living, there wasn't any quotas, no days at sea....no closed areas...at least not here. You were only limited by the weather and your ambition and your skill/luck or lack thereof.
Things were simpler, not necessarily better, but definitely simpler.
I suppose they were better, at least you knew what you would be doing tomorrow...2 weeks...a month down the road...you could make plans.
Now as soon as you start making money after a "season" opens....you are just waiting for that closure notice to arrive, these days for me, via email. You can't make plans....they can't even tell you how much was caught a week ago never mind this week, so you just get up and do your job, catch the fish, go to the market, get more ice, more fuel,
but you don't really think much about tomorrow or the next day, sure you think of "tomorrow" literally, sure, but not metaphorically, you can't....it'll make you crazy.

The crazy is when you do think of the future, realizing how uncertain things really are....knowing the rules can change unfavorably, in the stroke of a pen...in the blink of ane eye...and then what do you do?

I catch fish from a small open boat, 21'. Crazy huh? But....you'd be surprised to know that I've cleared $50,000 many years, until all the quotas and restrictions we are ALL living with these days. I work sometimes 18-24 hours straight....but I don't mind the hours or the