NorEast Fishing Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the season winds down for striper fishermen, I was wondering what they do during the winter since I'm new to surf fishing. Pack up their gear and watch football on weekends? Switch to fishing blackfish and flounders?

Thanks to tiderunner's advices while fishing on the WE2 jetty, I've managed 2 keepers at 32 inches using a long bomber this season. And have also convinced my wife to buy me a Lamiglas for xmas. The current steelhead rod I have works well when I'm casting with the wind but totally useless into the wind while the guy next to me with a longer rod is casting his 100+ yards into the same headwind. Didn't get a chance to ask him which rod and what action the rod is because his wife was standing behind him nagging him to leave (guess that's why we don't take wives along, eh). My other question is, which rod action should I get in order to be able to use the rod for both plugging and slinging out 3 oz sinkers with bait? Thanks for your help and happy holidays to all.

·
Registered
742 Posts
Agreed Mark Flynn is the man. You might want to consider a 10'. Depending on your size and ability it might be the way to go. Talk to Mark he will hook you up. Good luck--bill

Bill Wetzel NYS Licensed Guide

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys, I'll give Mark a call. But I'm serious about the other question. Do you guys pack it in once the striper season ends or you switch to different type of fish? Thanks again.

·
Registered
47 Posts
If this weather holds up we might not have to pack it in.
Else it's if to the boat and fishing shows.
Tried tying flys last winter. That didn't last since I don't fly fish

Later

·
Registered
190 Posts
T&B