NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just starting out -- could use some advice on what kind of waders to get. Neoprene? Breathable? Boots? Stocking feet? Any advice is appreciated.

Tight lines!

·
Registered
11,637 Posts
Get Red Ball Master waders. They're tough, medium wait, decent insulation and moderately priced.

After you get a few seasons under your belt and see the kind of fishing you like to do then you can "upgrade" to neos or breathables or stocking etc depending on your needs.

Jaiem
ArtsNFlies.com

·
Registered
9 Posts
Look at the 10-5-01 spacegh8st's question regarding waders. Im new at this as well, and i have redball neoprene waders. I like them, they work. Everything on them is plastic, so its one less thing to rust. Maintenance involves rinsing them off and hanging them. These waders are warm for the type of weather we've been having; however, I wear shorts or remove my jacket or sweatshirt.

·
Registered
11,637 Posts
Boot foot means the boot (shoe) part of the wader is attached at the end of the legs. Stocking foot means there is no boot and the end of legs are like a pair of children's PJ's (like a big pair of socks). You have to buy a wading shoe to put over the stocking end.

IMO boot foot is better. With stocking foot you have to always put on/off the shoe (and one more thing to forget to bring), it's hard to attach Korkers to the shoe, and sooner or later you'll get sand or a pebble into the shoe. That's both painful and wears out the stocking foot part very quickly.

OTOH, stocking foot waders do tend to be lighter weight.

I'd say go for the bootfoot for now. Later you can try stocking if you really want.

Jaiem
ArtsNFlies.com

·
Registered
249 Posts