NorEast Fishing Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't like wire, so I thought I might try pulling leadcore. Does anyone have any experience with the stuff?
What type of knot do I use to connect the backing & leader?

Thanks-

Stephen Byrne
NY Bight Editor
Nor'east Saltwater

·
Registered
165 Posts
Dear Steve,
I've been trolling leadcore for 2 years now and over the last 20 trips i haven't been skunked,
I've turned all my buddies on to the leadcore. It's very simple to use1 color drops you to about
4 feet,connection from main line to leadcore is any of your favorite knots for joining two different
diameters, and you need no special rods or reels to use. My setup consists of 20lb test main line,
35lb test leadcore,a 6 1/2 ft uglystick rated for 20-40lb test,and a PENN 330gtI reel.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. I used an albright & it looks pretty solid. Thanks for the info regarding depth. I only began trolling last year & had great success with shad umbrellas. I would like to use bunker spoons & I have some Mann's Stretch plugs also. What do you find most productive?

Thanks again,

Stephen Byrne
NY Bight Editor
Nor'east Saltwater

·
Registered
165 Posts
Hey Steve,
I use shad and tube rigs usually-haven't tried bunker spoons yet, waiting for the bigger stripers
too move in before i start using spoons. Stretches are a mainstay in my spread also, but i troll those on mono. Last trip was fri-trolled up my boat limit within half an hour on the 15ft flats off of
Roamer light-3 colors down with white and chartreuse shad rigs, eeled same area had some runoffs, then bucktailed and surface plugged another half dozen off of the earle pier.

·
Registered
0 Posts