NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
whats the best approach to using a sinker with eels when casting?
fishfinders and rubbercore sinkers tend to have a helicopter effect when I use them. I am apprehensive about using egg sinkers because I am not sure if it will keep the eel on the bottom and inhibit its natural swim.

·
Registered
32,144 Posts
I fish the Nissequogue River all the time tossing eels - don't use a sinker. Just allow the river current to carry the eel along & let it swim.

Works fine & you can cover a lot of area this way.

·
Registered
178 Posts
What about in the Shinne**** Inlet?? I've never used eels before. I was thinking about using a 3-4 ounce sinker, also, what size hook? I'm going to be using a 5/0 Mustad Demon Circle or a 3/0 Mustad O' Shaugnessy, which one should I go with???

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have also used that approach bwhere the current is running however I plan on fishin tonight in L.N. Bay where there is no current, especially not as swift at the Niss.
Incidentally, what advice do you have for fishing the Niss. I was there at low tide and walked in my waders quite a distance and could only get action on sea robbins on tails and spoons and small blues w/calms. Is it any more viable for bass than other spots?

·
Registered
618 Posts
I never use a sinker. My rig is a 40-inch length of 50# mono (or fluorocarbon) with a #1 swivel barrel on one end and a 7/0 Gamakatsu Octopus hook on the other. Cast out, retrieve _slowly_. When you get a hit, drop the rod tip and set the hook HARD when the line tightens.

·
Registered
1 Posts
i'm new to the surf. should i smack the eel to keep it from balling up or just cast it as is. also what do you guys do to keep the eels alive - when i'm on the boat, it's easy to put it in the livewell - but walking up and down the beach a mile or two maybe difficult.

·
Registered
32,144 Posts