NorEast Fishing Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Don't own one YET. I was in Powderhorn Outfitters in Hyannis Ma last week and checked it out. Very solid and SMOOTH. Definitely would have bought it if I wasn't already burning cash on this outing to the Cape(very productive). My surf fishing is UNFORTUNATELY limmitted to about 3 trips a year as L.I. or Cape Cod is a long haul from Lk George. For the rest of this year my 704z will suffice but that Taurus reel will definitely be under my Xmas tree. I'm no expert but I handled the reel for about 30 minutes in the shop and it was real hard leaving it there. It seems to be about half the price of the other "quality" reels and the Taurus comes with the extra spool. Just my humble opinion.
GBA,
Alan

·
Registered
3 Posts
I've did some research on this TICA before I brought one to test out. The company has been around for 10 years building Shimano reels in China. That is why they look a little like Shimano. Why pay $450 for a Shimano Stella or a Vaan Staal reel when the Taurus is only $200.
I own two TICA reel and they are very smooth. They have out last my Shimano Stradic 6000. I have the Libra SA3000 10 ball bearings which I use in the north shore. I've put it to the test by catching 40 blues around 9-15 lbs this Fall run so far. The reel still holding up. The other TICA reel is the Camry GP4000 8 ball bearings which I use for surfcasting. The reel is light and smooth. I got both reel for less then one Shimano Stradic 6000. The Taurus 6000 & 5000 with 14 ball bearings will you can't go wrong. They are $200 at EastCoastTackle.com. They are too big for the north shore, but they are coming out with a smaller model soon which I hope to get.
You can check out the TICA reels at Ticaglobal.com