NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Scoops
[email protected]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
First, I am not a commercial fisherman, I am a scientist.
Second, I wasn't taking "pot shots" at anybody. If you understood the law you would know that negative economic impact is a valid reason to decrease the quota so the statement that we had to accept size and bag limits (and poundage limits on the commercial side) that we knew would put us over the quota the past two years is what is BS. The reason that recreational and commercial fishermen wanted the largest limits possible is short term greed.

What is going to suffer here is the public and the ocean. A lot more people eat fish than go fishing and when they no longer have fish available in the grocery

·
Registered
942 Posts
Short term greed???
Why?Just because when we go out on the water and spend money at the local b&t's and deli's,we would like to come home with some fresh fish to show for our effort.I'm not greedy at all,but I would like to keep a couple for the cooler!:mad::mad:

·
Registered
228 Posts
Why does everyone seem to talk about all of those unfortunate people who "like to eat fish but don't go fishing" ? Not too long ago you couldn't get fresh Maine lobster in South Dakota. You could only get seafood near a sea ;)

****, lots of people like to eat Prime Grade Fillet Mignon but don't have the opportunity to do that either. I don't hunt but fresh quail might be nice once in a while?

It is almost like painting a picture that commercial fishing is some kind of charity meant to bring food to the masses.

I don't have a problem with sustainable commercial fishing but seriously...is it some kind of charity to bring food back to the seafood-challenged? I don't think so.

J.

·
Registered
159 Posts