NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
Just jack it up off the bunk/rollers. Get 6 cinder blocks & a few cut up pieces of 2 X 4's 3 or 4 " long ". Place the jack in the center of stern on a nice block being carefull not to run it through the hull. Lift the boat, block it off on each side of stern with cinderblocks and wood.
Might want to block the front too, do it off thr trailer. Dont jump in the boat unless the bow is blocked as it could be wobbly. jack it a few " es off the rollers leaving enough room to paint.

·
Registered
190 Posts
I've never done it before, but I was told how to do it by a mechanic at the boat yard. (After my axle snapped coming around the turn in the road JUST BEFORE the entrance to the marina!!! [just MY luck...lol] Luckily I didn't have to take the boat off the trailer, as they were able to bring the forklift over to pick up the entire rig.)
But anyway...The way Scalawag suggests is fine, but if you want to comepletely remove the boat from the trailer, jack up the back of the boat just like he says. Make sure it's nice and sturdy. Then, SLOWLY pull the trailer forward, while someone keeps an eye on the boat to make sure it doesn't move. When you get the trailer almost completely out from under the boat, then block up the front of the boat. You can then pull the trailer out all the way.
Like I said, the way that Scalawag suggests is fine...just jack it up a few inches off the trailer, but if you did want to remove it completely, this is the way (suppposedly) that it is done. I'm glad that I didn't have to wind up doing it, because I wouldn't have felt safe trying to pull out the trailer...LOL!
Good luck either way.

~spinfreak~

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
I just did it yesterday to paint under the bunks,