NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a relative newbie to the fishing world. This is my 2nd year with a boat fishing mostly out of Smithtown Bay. My question is since I do not have a fishing boat with live wells and such, what is the best thing to store fish (provided I ever get a **** keeper...LOL). I have read that folks put them on ice. Do I just bring a large cooler and toss them in? I always thought it was best to keep them alive as long as possible in a bucket of water. Please advise this rookie. Thanks.

· Registered
211 Posts
I used to keep them just in a bucket after I caught them..

Now, I throw them on ice. Keeps it fresher.

With blues (or really any fish, but mainly blues), the general consensus is to gut and bleed the fish in a salt/ice slurry.

· Registered
1,174 Posts
cooler with ice is pefict, if you want to bleed the fish in a bucket of water for a few minutes first that would help. I fished for years without a live well. only neccisary if you fish live bait. If you have a swim platform you can mount a temp livewell as needed.

· Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
But I had heard you werent allowed to gut the fish at sea and had to take them on land. How exactly do you bleed a fish and why would you do it in a bucket. I guess you just dont throw throw the whole live fish on ice?

· Registered
406 Posts
different rules for different fish