NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just starting out jigging and would like to see how to rig up for some of these fish. I hear top shot no top shot,put a buck tail or a jig 2 ft from the Diamond jigs.

Thanks
JOE

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
http://www.peacetoken.com/rigseabass.html

I only have limited experience jigging sea bass offshore but I think that the jig is probably irrelevant but chrome/gold seems to be excellent choices. Size and weight are important up to 8 or so ozs. The CRITICAL part is having a squid strip on the hook in order to get bites. I'd like to try a torpedo sinker with a small siwash and squid strip and see if that works well. Kil if you have one at home (torpedo sinker) bring it along as I'll try and see if it works or if I have time I'm going to buy one. I bet it would work though. I'm crossing my fingers for the w****er.

This post edited by tunafever 09:28 PM 02/10/2008

·
Registered
12,349 Posts
I was about to write about seabass jigging rigs.:)

It seems smaller jigs work better, but I found it is necessary to use 6 - 8 oz jigs to fish 200 - 250 ft. Once jigs are bigger than 8 oz diamond jigs, bites are substantially decreased.
I don't see much difference as long as the sizes of jigs are small. The only reason I use hammered diamond jigs is it works and it doesn't cost much even I lose a few at rocky bottom or wrecks.

As tunafever stated, you definitely get less bites without squid strips on the hook. However, I observed that Tom (raekwon) had constant bites on teasered hooks without squid strips. I plan to experiment teasered hooks without squid strips in the future trips.

This post edited by KILSONG 12:35 AM 02/11/2008

Attachments

·
Registered
5,052 Posts