NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
151 Posts
I have been fishing with the 965 for three years now and have had no issues with it. I have used it from everything from bass and blues to pitching baits to mahi. There are plenty of other similar reels out there that can do the same but like anything else, it comes down preference. I have mine spooled with 50lb braid. I could probably use 30lb pound braid but use the 50lb because I feel it is easier to tie knots. I picked up an avet sx this winter to try something new and to see if I could get a little more distance out of my casts because casting distance is one thing the 965 lacks.

· Registered
502 Posts
I've been fishing a pair of 965s for several years. Mainly used for deep water fluking but have used for eeling bass, jigging bass & inshore blackfishing. I've never had a problem with either although I know some who have had repeated problems.

This post edited by Skolmann 03:13 PM 03/21/2008

· Registered
972 Posts
Another person who has used a 965 for several seasons with no problems. I use mine for jigging bass and blues and have it spooled with 30lb. PP. It's not the smoothest reel I own...that would be my Shimanos, but it is a workhorse with a great drag.

· Registered
806 Posts
PENN 965

I fished with a 965 and had some issues, my clicker doesn't work anymore, I had to have the gears replaced, but maybe I was a little too hard on it.

I have a Torium 14 and for the money, in my personal opinion I think it's a better reel, and personally I shying away from level winds where ever possible.

· Registered
286 Posts
I own 4 965s for 3 or 4 seasons now and have had a few minor problems with them also. I use them from bassing and fluking to mahis and big cudas and amberjacks down south. For the most part I like them but I have been thinking about giving some Shimano products a try.

· Premium Member
10,097 Posts
Well now, the Penn 965, you ask?

Nice stuff.