NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am taking delivery of a new boat in March. I plan to do a decent amount of offshore fishing with it. I will eventually venture to the Canyon but those trips will be infrequent.

Aside from the obvious items needed on any boat, how would you experienced offshore anglers outfit a new boat for this type of fishing? What electronics, hardware, ground tackle,fish handling equipment, coolers and other items would you recommend? Just for the boat, not the actual fishing gear and accessories.

Fishing would be for shark, tuna and other pelagics that could be subdued with 50lb class tackle.

It would be helpful if responses would be along the lines of "A MUST" "SHOULD HAVE" and "WOULD BE NICE" type of categorization.

Any and all replies are deeply appreciated.

TSLTW

·
Registered
6,483 Posts
Mad Mahi,
I am no expert,these are a few things I would recomend...
One quality vhs radio and antenna(2 is better)
Offshore type life jackets for all
GPS and a backup GPS or Loran
Location charts
Quality depth finder
Water Temp Gauge
Epirb
If you have room a zodiac life raft
First aid supplies
At least 1- 178qt cooler for fish
Another for food with ice
Emergency flares
Fresh Water and food
Extra ropes,battery,lights,compass,knifes
Outriggers if you plan on trolling tuna
Foul weather gear
Thats all I can think of right now,some of these guys may add on to the things I forgot...

"Fishing with an Attitude"

·
Registered
60 Posts
If you venture to the canyons and plan on some trolling you might need some extra fuel and a good transfer pump for your sake i hope its diesel ,gasoline is scarey 100 miles out.Also a good bible may help on those nights when 15'ers make it intresting.

·
Registered
60 Posts