NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have never done this type of fishing before maybe you guys can help me out.
What type of hooks do you us, do you use any weight,how to rig,mono or braided,eel alive or dead, where do you hook the. Like I said never did it before.

·
Registered
958 Posts
it depends how u fish...ive had much success drifting eels alive with my rod line tied to a three way, three foot leader down to sinker, then three foot leader to circle hook or baitholder (bait the eel thru the eyes, or in the mouth and out the gill) black hooks work better-stripers can see well..im not sure if eels work in the spring or they are around in the fall only? hope this helps

·
Registered
11,637 Posts
Assuming you're casting eels, I use a 5/0 to 8/0 hook such as a Gamakatsu Octopus, Cirlce or Live Bait hook. I tend to err on the side of using a slightly smaller hook so as not to over power the eel (unless it's a really big bass eel) and therefore present it more naturally.

Most eel casters use a leader of 50#-80# fluoro connected to a black barrel swivel. Usually no weight, perhaps a small egg sinker at most.

Cast it out and retrieve very s-l-o-w-l-y.

Just don't use eels in the spring. Everyone knows eels don't work then. ;)

Jaiem
ArtsNFlies.com

·
Registered
117 Posts
ballbreaker,

If you want to learn how to fish eels, either live or dead(aka rigged) I recommend you pick up "Secrets of Night Fishing" by William ("Doc") Muller. The book covers eel fishing in depth and even dedicates an entire chapter to rigging eels. Good luck!

·
Registered
35,658 Posts
Mr. Ball - as Jaiem says - depends on where you are planning on slingin' them.

I toss into the Nissequoge River & fish/rig them this way.

6.0 bait or circle hook on an 18" leader clipped into a snap swivel. No weight used. Put hook through lower jaw & out an eyesocket.