NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am hoping to catch some warm water this summer (july/Aug/Sept) in the area of Cholera Bank, 17 Fathoms & BA Bouy. Last year I hooked up with a number of Skipjack Tuna in 17 fathoms area. I also have had success with False Albies. I have heard reports of Mahi at and near the Buoy and pots but have never scored. Have also heard stories of Bluefin Tuna in this area.

My success has been on Mexican Flag colored Tuna Clones coupled with home made squid teasers. Also clark spoons off of planers. Trolling speed of about 6.5 knts.

I am hoping to score on the Mahi/Bluefin this year. I would like to start a discussion to cover this area and possibly down to the Mud Hole Wreck.

I have been told to creep up on the BA when the water is warm and cast a bucktail with squid strips for Mahi.

Have you had luck in this area ?
How do you rig up?

Regards

·
Registered
3,480 Posts
Im far from a pro with Offshore but I dont think theres too many times the action for tuna is as close as Cholera but could be wrong. Ive gotten the albies too trolling in front of the beaches { once saw them 100yds. south of Loop Bridge breaking water!}
Id love to try nabbing some tuna also close to shore ... Once saw a 19'larson gassing up in the fall @ Teds with a 200 lb. Bluefin tuna they just caught few out of JI..
HEY PauliEEEEEEEEE ya out there? anyone what ya think? { Ive had feathers in my tackle box unused still in the wrapper for years, love to get em wet.}
Alan

·
Registered
6,483 Posts
Hey Allen,