NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a question for any of the Suffolk county freshwater fishermen. I'm a student at Stony Brook University who just started classes this year and a friend of mine who has fished the area for a few years wanted to take me out to experience some of the freshwater species available. We both headed out to Mill Pond in Setauket. I was using fly gear while he used a light spinning set-up. I was scouting along the edge of the pond looking for a spot on the shore to cast from when I was stopped by a gentleman in a vehicle and asked if I knew that the park belonged to a private fishing club. I told him I was unaware of that and that I was a student at the university. He then asked if I was a local resident and I told him that I lived close by (I'm used to the Florida definition of "close-by" which is anywhere from 30 to 45 minutes away) in Mount Sinai. He then made it very clear that I wasn't allowed to fish in the pond and that it was only accessible to local residents. I decided it'd be best to head home and avoid any issues and went to check whether Mill Pond is a private club or DEC managed. The DEC lists that Mill Pond has public fishing access through the local park. However, I found a local paper article (http://www.northshoreoflongisland.com/pdf/vt_010611w.pdf see page A7) that outlines the creation of the fishing club and rules that members must follow. I'd like a little clarification on whether the pond actually is publicly accessible or if it is private. If it's publicly accessible, then I'd like to know why the new club is being antagonistic towards the public. In general, I appreciate their rules but feel some of them may be a bit severe. If it's not publicly accessible, then they ought to contact the DEC and get the website changed to prevent misunderstanding.

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·