NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to Key West and I might not have time or money to charter a boat. I want to wake up before the wife and sneak out at sunrise for an hour or two. Does anyone know any good spots for surf fishing?
I'm bringing some gear with me. I'm bringing a few crystal minnows, bucktails, poppers, tins, cocohoe's and wildeyes. Any suggestions on what other lures I may need?
I have attached a map of the area I will be staying.
Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
404 Posts
KEY WEST

basshole,

when i was a college student back in the 70's, i hitchhiked to key west and camped for a couple of weeks on an undeveloped little island called cow key, right before you get to key west.

cow key is probably packed with condos nowadays, but back then it was just me, mangroves, and a couple of incredibly friendly (but scary looking) doberman pinschers that were kind enough to guard my tent while i explored key west.

if you have use of a car, you may want to hit some bridges at night when your wife is sleeping.

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
there is the bridge the gets you on the island and at night has 5-30 lb tarpon. fish at high tide with doa shrimp lures. can't miss! if you don't mind doing a little sneaking buy 2 packs of pilchards and start chumming key west harbor (the docks by the boats and resteraunts)with the first pack. with the second throw out a pilchard after 10 minutes on a 6/0 hook with no weight and hand on .there are tarpon there up to 200 lbs. one afternoon i was feeding them by hand. have fun.

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
wow

feeding 200# tarpon by hand that's pretty cool.
Are there any issues with parking by the bridges at night?
Do I need to wade out at all or is the water deep enough that I can fish from the shore?

·
Registered
1,043 Posts