NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an avid fisherman.From smallmouth bass in Maine to black marlin in Panama I have been incredibly fortunate to experience some of the world's greatest fishing. As a commercial rod and reel fisherman in Montauk(when such a thing existed),I have caught numerous 50lbs. plus striped bass as well as giant bluefin tuna exceeding 800lbs. On then sweetwater side I orchestrate two annual fishing trips, one to Lake Ontario an another to Maine. I have been running these trips for over 15 years.Having fished my entire life I also pride myself in keeping up with the latest tackle, techniques and technology.HOW CAN I TURN MY KNOWLEDGE AND PASSION FOR FISHING INTO A CAREER?

·
Premium Member
68,838 Posts
Bass,
I have a background very similar to yours, everything from pinhooking porgies to giant to the canyons. The short answer about a career is that you can't. You can make some money during the season, running a charter boat, being a bookng agent, buying and selling fish, commercial fishing. During the winter you might pick up a few bucks repping for the tackle companies. But I certainly wouldn't call any of that a career! Maybe you could do better smewhere there the fishing lasts all year long?

===MakoMike===

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply Mako Mike. You don't think working as a salesperson for a tackle manufacturer would cut it? Done the charter thing,and as you very well know pinnhooking for anything is so regulated to say the least,there's got to be a way to make a relatively decent buck in the fishing industry. Why don't we start a T.V. show?!!!!!! I wish. Well anyway I'am going to give it a shot. Twenty years commuting into the city is enough! Any and all suggestions would and have been appreciated. As they say its not allways what you know but who you know.Take it easy Mike .

·
Registered
11,588 Posts