NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Well, start getting ready for flounder, because the Jersey season opens on March 1st. It should be a good start to the season with the mild weather that we've been having.
What type of info are you looking for around Sandy Hook? Are you lookim=ng for updates on fishing? Areas to fish? Get back to me, and I can give you all the info you could want. :)
~tight lines~

~spinfreak~

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
spinfreak,im new to the winter flounder hunt, i launch from the alantic highlands where do you think a good spot to try first time out would be??
distance is not a problem.. thanks wirenut

·
Registered
199 Posts
I keep my boat in the Atlantic Highlands, in the Skipper's Shop lot, which is on your left as you make the turn into the marina. Maybe I'll see you out there...lol.
Anyway, your best bet is to head up into either the Navesink or Shrewsbury river. I'm not sure if you are familiar with the rivers, so I'll tell you about each.
Navesink River:
Head right from the launch ramp, keep going past the all the way pst the bridge. After the bridge, you'll see the fork in the river. To the left is the Shrewsbury, to the right is the Navesink. Stay in or near the channel when going into the Navesink, as the waters outside of the channels are pretty shallow, and filled with rocks and boulders. One decent spot is on the right of the little island when you first enter the Navesink. It is very narrow between the island and the shore, so go slow and keep your eyes open for low water. Anywhere next to the Island is pretty good. Another spot in the Navesink that is really good, is just upstream of the bridge that you can see after you first go into the Navesink. If you have a depthfinder (or fishfinder), look for deeper holes about 50-100 yards upstream from the bridge, on the righthand side of the drawbridge.
Shrewsbury: