NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Where and What kind to Buy

I am fairly new to fishing, and I was hoping that someone out there could give me some advice on chum. I would like to try fishing with it but I don't know where to start. I saw some chum for sale in boaters world but it was dry and I have no idea how to use it. Could someone please try to enlighten me on Chum! I fish in Great Bay out of Tuckerton NJ. Mostly for Fluke and Weakies. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Hugh Brown

·
Registered
40 Posts
Its nothing difficult. I use grinded up bunker and add some salt water to it. Make sure it is completely grinded up. You dont want any big pieces out there. Little by little just chum right into the current to creat a chum slick

·
Registered
384 Posts
That dry stuff at Boater's World can be really messy. You add water to it and it creates an oily soup-no large particles.

We grind our own chum for sharking-usually ground herring/mackeral with lots of bunker oil.Make sure you not using big chunks-they will settle fast than the slick (you also don't want to overfeed the fish).

Some people use cat food for chum.

·
Registered
35,658 Posts
**** - I say use the cat for chum being a dog lover myself..
Yeah I know - gonna probably get some flack for that one but I couldn't help myself.....

·
Registered
3 Posts
Thanks

Thanks to all that replied. I would have no problem using cats if it would help me catch fish. (also being a Dog lover) What about the cans of corn I read about somewhere? Is that good chum for flukes? Do you use a chum pot with the ground up bunker? When using a chum pot how deep should I let it sink?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,006 Posts