NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the sport with many questions. My first is: I hear bluefins
will be good in the begining of June and they come in pretty close. I will be fishing off of Shinne**** and was wondering if anyone has heard of any action? Where should we go to get some action? Also has anyone heard of the 700 line?

·
Premium Member
12,316 Posts
Hi Walt!

Search the topics, and the answers will be revealed to you (lol). These guys can be very helpful. Keep in touch.

Chris

·
Premium Member
74,095 Posts
Walt,
whether or not you'll get them near shinne**** depends on whether they take the offhsore or inshore route on their migration. If they take the offshore route you'll have to fish more to the east. like south of block island.
The 700 line refers to the loran secondary station 4, 43700 is a line offshore about 25-30 miles.

·
Registered
139 Posts
GOOD AFTERNOON,
WE USUALLY SEE THE FIRST JUMPERS IN EARLY TO MID JUNE,THEY HAVE TEY TO SETTLE IN AT THIS POINT AND TROLLING SQUID RIGS AND DAISY CHAINS OF MACKS IS THE MOST PRODUCTIVE.AS SOME OTHERS HAVE ALREADY REMARKED THEIR ARE ALOT OF VARIABLES TO FINDING THESE FISH,IF THEY MIGRATE FROM THE MID ATLANTIC SHELF,PROIR TO HEADING NORTH THEY WILL PROBABLY FEED ON TOP IN YOUR NY BIGHT AREA.IF YOU HAVE OPPURTUNITY PICK UP "FISH THE CHAIR IF YOU DARE" BY GREG BEECHER THIS CAPT,HAS WRITTEN PROBABLY THE BEST BOOK ABOUT THE FISHERY.THERE ARE SVEREAL SECTIONS REFERING TO FISHING IN YOURE AREA.ANYWAY IF THEY COME FROM THE SOUTH,WHICH WAS THE THINKING FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS THEY SHOW UP FIRST NORTH