NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all:

First of all I want to say that this is a great site and I find it to be very instructive and often humorous. I am hoping I can get some good advice in connection with my desire to buy a boat. I have wonderful memories of fishing with my parents as a kid on partyboats and want to create those same memories with my children. However, I would like the luxury and flexibility of my own boat to do much of the fishing.

I am looking for something, most likely used, under $50,000 and in the 25 to 30 foot range. I have no experience as a boat owner or really on boats period and would take all the coast guard courses, etc. before the purchase. I envision the primary use of the boat for inshore fishing?fluke, blues, etc. I believe a head is necessary to get my wife and kids on the boat so am probably looking at a cuddy cabin or a walkaround. Once I build up enough confidence, I would envision taking the boat a little further out, without the wife and kids, for some more serious fishing (maybe sharking, inshore tuna, mudhole trips). At some point I would like to get out to the canyons but realize that is no place for a newbie. I would like the boat to be fairly stable for drifting. Lastly, I would like the ****pit to be primarily focused around fishing but would like to provide some form of a seat or bench (possibly removable if that is possible)for just cruising.

I would appreciate any advice you guys could give.

Thanks,

Nick

· Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Thank you all for the great advice. In response to most, safety gear is without question a must have and the recommendation for "renting" a captain ("cheap hooker") for a couple of days is a great idea. Are happy endings included??

I will be sure to post when I get something for some more tips and advice.

gverb