NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an avid salt water fisherman and know my way around the north shore of Long Island.
Recently (March "07") my inlaws purchased a cabin in the bear mtn. area of NY. with a lake on the property. This past summer I went and got a fresh water fishing permit and did'nt catch a thing.
I have never done any fresh water fishing before.
My Question is, how can i tell what kind of fish to target in this lake?
The lake is about 400 yards long and about 100 yards wide with a depth of about 25 feet in the middle.
I want to know if ther are any catfish, bass or anything worth fishing for.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
flatsflounder

·
Registered
37,770 Posts
Many ways to find out

#1- Is this lake a private lake? and has it ever been apublic lake?
Does it have a name? Call the DEC office in that region and see what they know about the lake.

#2- Do a google seach of tackle shops near that zip code and call them.

#3 If it does have a name, let me know, I will try to help you.

There are a few lakes that look beautiful upstate but can not support life, due to heavy polluting back in the 60's and 70's this I found out from a retired long time big wig in the DEC.

Let me know what you come up with.

·
Registered
24,271 Posts
flatsflounder wrote:
I am an avid salt water fisherman and know my way around the north shore of Long Island.
Recently (March "07") my inlaws purchased a cabin in the bear mtn. area of NY. with a lake on the property. This past summer I went and got a fresh water fishing permit and did'nt catch a thing.
I have never done any fresh water fishing before.
My Question is, how can i tell what kind of fish to target in this lake?
The lake is about 400 yards long and about 100 yards wide with a depth of about 25 feet in the middle.
I want to know if ther are any catfish, bass or anything worth fishing for.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
flatsflounder