NorEast Fishing Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys...When it comes to tuna, I was always a troll & chunk - overnighter kinda guy. With the increased popularity, A couple of my crew started messing with jigs this past season and we had a blast. I really found myself getting into it. Anyway, Im new to the world of jigging reels. Everyone has been saying Torsa torsa torsa and while it seems like a real nice reel, I dont know that im ready to drop 6 1/2 bills on one. Who knows.

So anyway, I was hoping you guys could post a list of 3 reel choices. Top notch, middle of the road, and entry level - along with approx retail prices. So I could get a better idea of whats out there.
Lets hear from ya. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
848 Posts
i have the accurate boss 6652speed i just recently bought for Japanese style jigging, and then i have a Penn 16vsx that i use for regular jigging for tuna i love both reels the vsx has proven its self to me. Penn also came out with a new torque which is also a sweet little reel made by Penn for jigging and spectra use. The one thing that Penn is doing right now is the vsx i have no complaints, or failure's on that series (knock on wood)i would defiantly buy another Vsx in the future.

Accurate 665 2spd.
Penn 16vsx
Penn Torque lever drag series.

Blake Conlin
tightlinzzzzzzzz

·
Registered
87 Posts
in the same boat

I too am looking at buying a good large game jigging reel. i have heard so many different things from numerous websites. I have used the torsa and very much liked it.