Username:
Password:
Get Account    
Login
         Home  |  Magazine  |  Reports  |  Discussion  |  Photos  |  Tides  |  Weather  |  Community  |  Updates  |  Fishing Info  |  Contact

HomeSearchTop PostersToday's Active Topics



Boat US Offers FREE Online Course to Comply with New Suffolk County Boat Operator Law

Page  1, 2  Next


  Discussion Boards > Boating Angler
Author Message
Hunt n' Fish
Noreast.com Club Member


Moderator
Boating Angler
General Fishing Forum
Posted Reports
Hunting

Joined: 04/11/2001
Posts: 11014
Location: Holbrook, NY
 posted 04/01/2013 10:22 PM  

The Suffolk County Legislature recently passed a law which requires all residents 18 and older operating most recreational boats to take an approved boater safety course, pass an exam, and carry a boating safety certificate while boating in Suffolk County. This is an additional county requirement on top of existing NY state boater education laws, which remain in force. Suffolk County boaters need to be certified by November 6, 2013.

Who has to meet this requirement?

All Suffolk County residents 18 an older at the helm of a recreational boat in Suffolk County need to carry a boating safety certificate. New York boaters who are residents of other counties and out-of-state boaters are exempt from this new law and can operate boats anywhere in New York including Suffolk County without a boating safety certificate. However, they are still subject to all other New York state boating laws (see below.)

What boats are included or exempt?

Most recreational boats are included in the County’s requirement. Rowboats, canoes, kayaks, and crew racing skulls are exempt from the county boating education requirements. These boaters do not need to carry the boating safety certificate.

What courses satisfy this new County requirement and how much do they cost?

For adult (18 and older) boaters other than operators of personal water craft (PWCs) the course must meet National Association of Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) standards and you can take the course online or in a classroom. Expect to spend 4-8 hours to successfully complete the course and exam.

*BoatU.S. offers a free online course accessible at all hours. Once you have completed and passed the course, you can print out your boating safety certificate.

Visit www.boatus.org to enroll in the course.


There are other NASBLA approved online courses available for a fee. If you’d rather learn in a classroom, the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, the U.S. Power Squadrons, and others offer courses for costs generally ranging from $40 to $100. Please visit www.boatus.com/courseline/ for a list of local classes.

If I drive a PWC like a Waverunner, Jetski or Seadoo, what is different, what courses work for me?

New York State law requires all operators of PWCs to obtain a boating safety certificate via an 8-hour classroom boating safety course and pass a proctored exam. This means online courses are unacceptable for PWC operators anywhere in New York, including in Suffolk County. For approved course times and locations:

www.nysparks.com/recreation/boating/safety-courses.aspx


What about kids?

The new Suffolk County law does not apply to youth under 18 years of age. However, NY state law requires boat operators age 10 to 18 to complete a classroom course with a proctored exam to obtain a boating safety certificate.

What does this do to my 2013 summer season?

Nothing! The county law takes effect November 6, 2013.

How does this work with the New York State boating laws?

This law ONLY applies to Suffolk County Residents who operate certain boats and is in addition to all current New York State and federal boating laws. A user-friendly brochure of all applicable state and federal boating requirements can be found at:

www.nysparks.com/recreation/boating/documents/NYSBoatersGuide.pdf

New York State Boat Operator Laws

Children Under 10 years old: Under current New York state law, this boater may operate a pleasure vessel without a boating safety certificate as long as they are under direct supervision by a person over the age of 18.

10-18 years old: Under NY State Law, youth may only operate a pleasure vessel with direct supervision of a person over the age of 18 or after successfully completing a state approved boating safety course.

18 and Older: No boating safety certificate requirement.

Personal Water Craft (PWCs) – All operators of PWCs must obtained a Boater Safety Certificate by taking an 8-hour classroom boating safety course and passing a proctored exam. This means online courses are unacceptable for PWC operators anywhere in New York, including in Suffolk County. For approved course times and locations:

www.nysparks.com/recreation/boating/safety-courses.aspx



President, RAIBS
Recreational Anglers against Internet BS


This post edited by canyonfvr 08:20 AM 04/08/2013
 
Fishbust


Joined: 11/30/2000
Posts: 1456
 posted 04/08/2013 07:48 AM  

Very good. Offering an online option will work. Shades


Local Motion
 
ajv003

Joined: 08/17/2000
Posts: 329
Location: Babylon
 posted 04/08/2013 07:50 AM  

Is this it?

So......If we take this course, is this all we need to legally boat in Suffolk? Or is there another state requirement? It's getting confusing!
 
BoatGuy

Joined: 02/02/2002
Posts: 528
 posted 04/09/2013 12:51 PM  

So online courses are now approved? They will meet the requirement for NYS and Suffolk county? Guess things have changed (for the better)
 
NonTypical


Joined: 04/26/2007
Posts: 216
Location: North Fork
 posted 04/10/2013 05:36 AM  

Chris, I just skimmed thru the links but I didn't see anything about it. I would assume that anyone with a USCG captains license would be exempt from this. Am I correct?
 
bucktail

Joined: 02/17/2001
Posts: 1764
Location: In God's country, protected by the Dongan Patent
 posted 04/10/2013 06:40 AM  

DONE


BANNED FROM POSTING COMMENTS ABOUT REPORTS AND PROUD OF IT!
 
BoatGuy

Joined: 02/02/2002
Posts: 528
 posted 04/11/2013 04:37 AM  

Sorry...I read this again....

The post says:

Personal Water Craft (PWCs) – All operators of PWCs must obtained a Boater Safety Certificate by taking an 8-hour classroom boating safety course and passing a proctored exam. This means online courses are unacceptable for PWC operators anywhere in New York, including in Suffolk County.

But further up:

What courses satisfy this new County requirement and how much do they cost?

For adult (18 and older) boaters other than operators of personal water craft (PWCs) the course must meet National Association of Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) standards and you can take the course online or in a classroom. Expect to spend 4-8 hours to successfully complete the course and exam.

*BoatU.S. offers a free online course accessible at all hours. Once you have completed and passed the course, you can print out your boating safety certificate.

So online is good for Suffolk county, but NOT NYS?


 
Fish220sr

Joined: 10/29/2002
Posts: 1621
Location: The Island
 posted 04/25/2013 04:37 PM  

Glad to have finished the Boats US course to meet the new Suffolk County Regs. 8 hrs plus.
Online was very convenient.Thanks for the heads up !




This post edited by Fish220sr 04:38 PM 04/25/2013
 
chinacat


Joined: 05/28/2003
Posts: 3063
Location: Shinnecock
 posted 04/30/2013 11:23 AM  

Can you stop and start this on-line class to do it in stages or do you need to do it straight through?


 
Outcast17

Joined: 05/21/2007
Posts: 60
 posted 05/04/2013 12:00 AM  

You can start and stop on any page and it will save it. I took mine just for the hell of it being im in westchester co and spread it over 3 nights.


This post edited by Outcast17 12:01 AM 05/04/2013
 
farside

Joined: 02/21/2003
Posts: 1201
 posted 05/11/2013 12:55 PM  

Same here

Fish220sr wrote:

Glad to have finished the Boats US course to meet the new Suffolk County Regs. 8 hrs plus.
Online was very convenient.Thanks for the heads up !



Comprehensive course and fairly easy. Thanks Chris up
 
trafik


Joined: 06/09/2003
Posts: 2193
Location: Port: Stony Brook
 posted 06/11/2013 04:36 PM  

What are the boundaries for Suffolk County Waters?

On the north shore and south?


 
MIKE TUNA


Joined: 12/26/2000
Posts: 1478
Location: Long Island
 posted 07/01/2013 02:54 PM  

The regular course is $35 and I believe 8 hrs. This is a nice option.


MIKE TUNA
 
howell1641


Joined: 09/30/2009
Posts: 124
Location: Moriches NY
 posted 10/18/2013 04:55 PM  

Just completed over the last week very easy and nice not to be in a classroom for 8hrs. It covers the Suffolk Law and the NYS law. Glad to get it over with...
 
Squeri Boy


Joined: 02/21/2002
Posts: 772
Location: Freeport Creek
 posted 10/20/2013 01:18 AM  

The Suffolk law goes away with the passing of the State Law. ANd the state has not yet approved online courses.


Atlantic Yacht Haven Marina - Freeport, NY
 
  Discussion Boards > Boating Angler Page  1, 2  Next  
Jump to:  




2019 Noreast Media, LLC.
Terms under which this service is provided to you.