Username:
Password:
Get Account    
Login
         Home  |  Magazine  |  Reports  |  Discussion  |  Photos  |  Tides  |  Weather  |  Community  |  Updates  |  Fishing Info  |  Contact

HomeSearchTop PostersToday's Active Topics

braided line

Discussion Boards > Surf Fishing Forum
vinny2008

posted 03/12/2002 05:13 PM  

I am trying power pro 30lb test on a penn 704 for the first time. When I spooled up the line wasn't tight on the spool and a 300 yd spool of line filled the spool up. Question, should I put backing on the spool and wind the power pro line on tight ( i thought I wound it on tight the first time ) or leaving it on a little loose is ok? This is my first time using this product and I am not sure what to expect. I use this outfit strictly for casting plugs. Thanks in advance.

Jaiem
Noreast.com Club Member

posted 03/12/2002 06:39 PM  

Hi Vinny.

300 yards is a lot of line, espeically something as expensive as PP.

I use 150 yards of 30# Fireline, but the method can be used for PP too.

I take an extra reel spool and load the fireline (in your case PP) on first. Naturally, it doesn't fill the spool so I "top" it off with mono fo the same diameter as the Fireline. I use a pair of Uniknots to connect the mono to the Fireline. Then I take off the spool, put on another spool and load the line in reverse from the spare spool. Thus, the mono on top of the spare spool is now underneath the Fireline/PP as backing.

There is the extra cost of a spare spool but I have found this to be the easiest way to measure backing and line.

Jaiem
ArtsNFlies.com

If you don't stand for something you'll fall for anything.

Democracy is NOT two wolves and chicken deciding what's for dinner.

BeachRat

posted 03/12/2002 11:01 PM