Username:
Password:
Get Account    
Login
         Home  |  Magazine  |  Reports  |  Discussion  |  Photos  |  Tides  |  Weather  |  Community  |  Updates  |  Fishing Info  |  Contact

HomeSearchTop PostersToday's Active Topics

Proper Presentation of SuperStrike Needle Fish

Page  1, 2  Next

Discussion Boards > Surf Fishing Forum
skyhook

posted 07/22/2003 01:01 PM  

While I have caught a fish or two on the SuperStrike Needle fish, I am not confident in its use since I don't know what the proper technique for working the sucker through the suds. While it casts like a rocket, a simple slow retreive that is applies to a lipped swimmer does not seem to put any real action on it. Needle Fish experts...help me out here!! How do you get sex appeal out of that thing??

Thanks

ShyHook

Blackbeard

posted 07/22/2003 06:18 PM  

Skyhook,
I am far from an expert. July 7th I was casting the SS Needlefish and walking down the beach, cranking very slowly when a 32" Weakie jumped on. Man I was a believer of the Needlefish from that point on. The needlefish is very deceiving because it offers very little drag, which is why it is so good in flight also. I just ordered a second SS Needlefish "Bullet", which is smaller/fatter, and flys even further.
Super Strike is my favorite lure and the Needlefish has enough sex appeal for me! I guess, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, especially when your eyes are big yellow ones!!!!
Steve

Jaiem
Noreast.com Club Member

posted 07/22/2003 10:02 PM  

I haven't used them too often but when I have I tend to use a rather quick retrieve while keeping the rod tip high. This causes the plug to make a V-wake on the surface. Naturally I'm fishing shallow water so a bass is likely to see it above and rise for it. Can't say if this is a prefered method, but it has worked for me. I know guys do use them in deeper and faster waters with very good success.

Look forward to reading the other methods casters use.

Jaiem
ArtsNFlies.com