Username:
Password:
Get Account    
Login
         Home  |  Magazine  |  Reports  |  Discussion  |  Photos  |  Tides  |  Weather  |  Community  |  Updates  |  Fishing Info  |  Contact

HomeSearchTop PostersToday's Active Topics

Sea Runs

Discussion Boards > Freshwater Forum
mattjbfish

posted 11/29/2013 11:34 AM  

Hi guys ive been doing some trout fishing for a few years now. Ive caught my share of stockie rainbows and browns. I would really like a shot at a nice sea run trout this winter and im aware that they do migrate soon. Ive never done this before so im clueless about how to go about it. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt

fishstank

posted 11/29/2013 01:25 PM  

Fish tidal waters, around high water times and or after rain fall. Using night crawlers, salmon eggs, and killies if you can find them. I have caught a few on lures (rap alas and spinners)in the past, but I think due to the frigid water temps bait seems to work better for me. Sea runs do not come in thick around here, so you really need to put your time in, and you may get lucky. If your a fly guy, try fishing the lower beats during the early season( no kill) at connetquot park February through March . I don't know what the return has been like since the hatchery was shut down, But that stream had the most consistent return run on LI when it was constantly being fed fish.

Good luck in THE SEARCH!!!

flukerr
Noreast.com Club Member

Freshwater Forum
Posted Reports

posted 11/30/2013 09:47 AM  

C-Runs....

Some great info. was given by Fishstank.

I will add that night time is the right time....Wink

A small killie on a slip-rig or drop-shot is my bait of choice. Have spent many of a cold winters nite chasing these fish...

This is slow fishing. You are waiting for that "1" bite ! When it comes, be ready...

Its a great feeling to catch one of the more rare fish on the Island....

If you do "hook-up" be sure to post back and let us know of your experience....