Username:
Password:
Get Account    
Login
         Home  |  Magazine  |  Reports  |  Discussion  |  Photos  |  Tides  |  Weather  |  Community  |  Updates  |  Fishing Info  |  Contact

HomeSearchTop PostersToday's Active Topics

Looking for some input from the experts

Page  1, 2  Next

Discussion Boards > Surf Fishing Forum
ogsep22

posted 10/02/2013 02:59 PM  

So I want to hit the water tonight since I haven't been out in a while and I'm a beginner to intermediate surfcaster. My target tonight will be the Sore Thumb. Now, between work and family I have little to no time to scout during the daytime and I realize that's a big part of the sport. However, I'm looking for some general information on how to fish that particular location. I see that, according to the tide tables provided on this site, high tide is around 6:00 pm. I wanted to hit the tip of the thumb by the rocks. I'll be getting to my spot middle of the ebb so I'm assuming the water will be flowing east to west. Would this be a favorable situation for this location? I've heard that the outgoing produces better since most of the baitfish are being flushed out from the back bays. I'm a lure fisherman and was looking for advice on which one would be best suited for these conditions. Sorry to be so inquisitive but I'm trying to justify spending time away from my family and I'm constantly coming home empty handed. I'm pretty much self taught and have read numerous threads and literature on the sport but I'm just not seeing the results. I'm pretty confident that my setup and gear is legit but my confidence in using certain lures is a bit lacking. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Joe Smile

ogsep22

posted 10/02/2013 04:34 PM