Username:
Password:
Get Account    
Login
         Home  |  Magazine  |  Reports  |  Discussion  |  Photos  |  Tides  |  Weather  |  Community  |  Updates  |  Fishing Info  |  Contact

HomeSearchTop PostersToday's Active Topics

advice for newbie buying a boat

Page  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Discussion Boards > Boating Angler
ng622

posted 10/27/2005 04:38 PM  

Hello all:

First of all I want to say that this is a great site and I find it to be very instructive and often humorous. I am hoping I can get some good advice in connection with my desire to buy a boat. I have wonderful memories of fishing with my parents as a kid on partyboats and want to create those same memories with my children. However, I would like the luxury and flexibility of my own boat to do much of the fishing.

I am looking for something, most likely used, under $50,000 and in the 25 to 30 foot range. I have no experience as a boat owner or really on boats period and would take all the coast guard courses, etc. before the purchase. I envision the primary use of the boat for inshore fishing—fluke, blues, etc. I believe a head is necessary to get my wife and kids on the boat so am probably looking at a cuddy cabin or a walkaround. Once I build up enough confidence, I would envision taking the boat a little further out, without the wife and kids, for some more serious fishing (maybe sharking, inshore tuna, mudhole trips). At some point I would like to get out to the canyons but realize that is no place for a newbie. I would like the boat to be fairly stable for drifting. Lastly, I would like the cockpit to be primarily focused around fishing but would like to provide some form of a seat or bench (possibly removable if that is possible)for just cruising.

I would appreciate any advice you guys could give.

Thanks,

Nick

"changes in latitude = changes in attitude."

togman

posted 10/27/2005 09:49 PM  

take a look at seaswirl boats. great oak marina , middle county road in st. james ..