Username:
Password:
Get Account    
Login
         Home  |  Magazine  |  Reports  |  Discussion  |  Blogs  |  Photos  |  Tides  |  Weather  |  Community  |  Updates  |  Fishing Info  |  Contact

HomeSearchTop PostersToday's Active Topics

Party Boat Tuna Do's and Do-not's

Page  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Discussion Boards > Partyboat Fishing
jtzannes

posted 09/13/2006 11:56 AM  

Before I start, let me say here that I am not an expert, I don't claim to be, and I only have 5 years party boat tuna experience so there are many many more qualified people here to do this than me. But, since nobody is doing it and I feel it needs to be done, I'm trying to compile a list of "rules" to help educate people about what's OK and what's not OK to do on a party boat tuna trip. I'll do my best to justify everything, and I welcome comments, corrections, criticisms, and most of all, additional "rules". So let me try to start with a little theory, and then get into it for real.

The Basics: Concepts everyone should always keep in mind on tuna boats.

TEAMWORK - everyone on the boat is on the same team.

TUNA SCHOOL - lose the fish and lose the school. Land the fish and the school stays.

LIFE BUILDS - activity in the water attracts more fish. A fish on the line attracts others, the school will GROW.

FISH TURN ON - feeding fish excite other fish to feed. Tuna can be under the boat for a while before turning on, it is critical to turn them on and keep them turned on.

Now for the rules:

1. One bait rod per person.
-more than one is difficult to manage when the bite suddenly turns on. Using two rods compromises the entire boat and reduces everyone's odds of catching, including your own in some cases.